Google
  Web www.gpspassion.com


GpsPasSion LIVE!
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from GpsPasSion Live !. Make your own badge here.

www.NaviBlog.com



Versions

Links/Liens




Portal/Portail
Rechercher

- -

Polls/Sondages
Sondage
Pour vous guider sur la Route :
GPS Mobile (SEM)
GPS Intégré
Smartphone
Autre
Voter  -  Résultat des votes
Votes : 2401




Club GpsPasSion
Soutenez le site!

USA: (US$)
EUROPE: (€)
Guide Paypal


GpsPasSion Forums
Home | Profile | Register/Enregist. | Active Topics | Search/Recherche | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 English Forums - Hardware
 Garmin iX, C3x0 and C5x0 Systems
 Free Map updates from Garmin?
 New Topic  Reply/Répondre
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bugmenot

31 Posts

Posted - 02 oct. 2006 :  21:14:33  Show Profile  Visit bugmenot's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hello all,

I too just bought a C330 -- it's my first GPS! I've been reading as much as I can about the unit, and I'm pleased to say that mine came with the City Nav V8 maps! I've read something about registering the product and receiving updates. Since I already have the newest maps, I won't need to get them from Garmin when they release them on DVD.

What should I do about registering my product? Is there any reason for me to register (or NOT register) right now as I already have the latest software? Should I hold off registration until much later in the future so that I'd be eligible for my "free" update?

Ads


apersson850

Sweden
1274 Posts

Posted - 02 oct. 2006 :  22:20:19  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes, you can hold off.

Anders
Go to Top of Page

natedj

USA
387 Posts

Posted - 03 oct. 2006 :  16:54:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Definitely ! Hold off till next year when Version 9 is out.
By registering now, you'll only tie yourself down to the map release you already have.
Go to Top of Page

johnnytuinals

151 Posts

Posted - 03 oct. 2006 :  17:53:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thats what I am doing with my C550,,,,Aug of 2007 sometime...JT
Go to Top of Page

rick2906

Canada
48 Posts

Posted - 03 oct. 2006 :  18:37:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
yeah deff hold off!!! you will get the free update from the date you register. I bought a use gps on ebay but I ask the guy if he did register the unit before i bought it from him and he didn't register it. I registered the unit after cn8 nt came out and I got the free update
Go to Top of Page

delacruzjeff

Canada
8 Posts

Posted - 31 mars 2007 :  18:22:39  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i can't remember if i register my c320. is there a way to verify it?
Go to Top of Page

CanesFan

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 02 avr. 2007 :  02:52:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by delacruzjeff

i can't remember if i register my c320. is there a way to verify it?


Try and log in (if you have a log in) and there should be something that says what you have registered under "my registered products" on the uooer right hand side of the screen. If you can't remember if you have a log in or not then you might have a problem in finding out. But if for sure you know you've nver made a log in for the site then I don't think you registered your GPS. Hope this helps.
Go to Top of Page

delacruzjeff

Canada
8 Posts

Posted - 02 avr. 2007 :  07:15:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
is registering the product the same with unlocking the dvd that came with it? for c320 owners, we always need to unlock the dvd otherwise there's no way for us to load the maps in the SD card.
Go to Top of Page

natedj

USA
387 Posts

Posted - 02 mai 2007 :  18:16:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Registering deals with the the physical unit - the hardware. Unlocking deals with the maps - the software. You will only need toregister the unit once, but you'll have to unlock maps with every upgrade.
Go to Top of Page

MrMojo

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 20 mai 2007 :  20:32:34  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Registration, generally, involves the warranty, as the company WILL ask for a copy of the receipt for the purchase date to see if the unit can be repaired within the warranty rules/without charge.
That's what they did when I tried to get some repairs work for my StreetPilot III years back!

The registration will also provide you with the unlock code for the map software, so you might as well register just in case you may have to reinstall the map software.

For now, you can hold off until registering because sometimes the company will use that to see if the owner is eligible for future map updates if you bought the unit within a certain time limit and when the new maps will be released.

Sometimes the map updates comes ~2 years but may change depending on how much geographic changes may have occurred or whenever the company feels like issuing an update.

Since you have a relatively new unit with the current City Nav version 8 maps, you don't need to worry about outdated maps since version 8 IS the most recent update.

You probably would want to register the product before the warranty runs out, though!
Go to Top of Page

tkamiya

1 Posts

Posted - 29 mai 2007 :  03:11:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I just registered my c340 with V7 map. Apparently, Garmin no longer offers FREE map updates. I recieved my V8 map DVD, but since I had no way to successfully authenticate/unlock the V8 installations, I called their tech support. I was told, as of May of this year, Garmin no longer offers one time free unlock code for map updates.

I would think this is accurate as two separate tech support person told me this. If anyone have different information, I'd be interested in knowing.

I'd hoped my first post would be something positive, but obviously, this change in policy affect many on this forum. I thought I'd share...

Edited by - tkamiya on 29 mai 2007 03:16:01
Go to Top of Page

Just Lou

USA
50 Posts

Posted - 30 mai 2007 :  01:19:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I can also confirm, no more free updates. I received this response when I had asked the other day:
"Thank you for contacting Garmin International,

Unfortunately, Garmin no longer offers any free mapping updates. I would
recommend seeing which version you are buying before you purchase the
unit. The latest mapping for this unit is v.8."

They did also tell me in another email that v.9 of MapSource City Navigator North America NT will be out in the summer.
Go to Top of Page

brianric

USA
218 Posts

Posted - 10 juin 2007 :  19:27:20  Show Profile  Visit brianric's Homepage  Reply with Quote
In the US, you do not need to register the unit to get warranty service.

quote:
Originally posted by MrMojo

Registration, generally, involves the warranty, as the company WILL ask for a copy of the receipt for the purchase date to see if the unit can be repaired within the warranty rules/without charge.
That's what they did when I tried to get some repairs work for my StreetPilot III years back!

Go to Top of Page

bltzkrig

1 Posts

Posted - 09 juil. 2007 :  21:44:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Newbie question: Can one find out which version of maps the unit is using by looking at the unit itself? I have a C330 that I recently bought. The CD is stored somewhere and I don't want to bother searching for it. Thanks!
Go to Top of Page

Doc33

14 Posts

Posted - 10 juil. 2007 :  01:42:05  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Click on the wretch(tool) on the bottom of the screen, then click on the map icon on the top left, and then map info on the bottom middle of the screen, the next screen will tell you what version the map software is.

Jamie
Go to Top of Page

Just Lou

USA
50 Posts

Posted - 23 juil. 2007 :  18:34:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Here's a bit of info. After reading on another forum that people with recently purchased units (<60 days) were getting free updates by calling Garmin and politely expressing disappointment that their new units have outdated maps, I called Garmin this morning. I spoke to a very nice CS agent. She stated my C330 was being discontinued and no new units were being shipped with the new 2008 maps. She offered me the update at 1/2 price, with free shipping. ($35 total) I was going push for "free", but decided to accept the offer since my unit was heavily discounted when I bought it back in May.

Edited by - Just Lou on 24 juil. 2007 04:20:55
Go to Top of Page

TheSensFan

1 Posts

Posted - 31 juil. 2007 :  20:22:02  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well I called and asked about my c330... In short they told me your unit has been discontinued and I was out of luck. Oh and have a nice day.
Go to Top of Page

delikid

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 02 août 2007 :  14:16:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Garmin is TOTALLY in consistent. Free for some, not free for others. So here's my situation below. Looks like I'll try to get on the phone and be on hold for 30 minutes and try to get the update that way...
---------------------------------------------
<EM>Thank you for contacting Garmin International, I would be happy to send you the update at no charge if the unit was bought after June 1st (2007). I checked and saw that you bought the unit at the beginning of the year and unfortunately that wont fall under the guidelines to receive an update for free. You will have to purchase the update for a fee of $70.00.

With Best Regards,

Charles D
Product Support Specialist
Automotive Team
Garmin International
913-397-8200
800-800-1020
913-397-8282 (fax) Att: Charles D
www.garmin.com</EM>

Garmin nüvi 350
Go to Top of Page

Just Lou

USA
50 Posts

Posted - 02 août 2007 :  17:05:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I don't believe anyone that bought their units over 2 months ago are getting the updates for free.
Go to Top of Page

Just Lou

USA
50 Posts

Posted - 02 août 2007 :  18:50:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by TheSensFan

Well I called and asked about my c330... In short they told me your unit has been discontinued and I was out of luck. Oh and have a nice day.



My sister bought her C330 in June. She emailed them yesterday, and today they told her to send them a copy of her receipt, and they'll send her the update for free. They told me that the C330 was discontinued, and the best they can do is give it to me for 1/2 price. Go figure.
Go to Top of Page

matrix_dot_ca

9 Posts

Posted - 11 oct. 2007 :  18:48:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I phoned garmin and they said that the new update map NT 2008 would not fit into the internal memory of C330? Is this true? How about putting the updated map into the SD card? Any thoughts from the guys who got the update?
Go to Top of Page

rytmx70

Canada
3 Posts

Posted - 11 oct. 2007 :  22:22:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Matrix: they told me the same. Apparently a C340 would have come with the 2008 maps.

C330
Go to Top of Page

minnie

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 14 oct. 2007 :  21:55:34  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Now I'm confused. Will NT2008 fit on a 330 or not?
Go to Top of Page

Cret

France
2702 Posts

Posted - 15 oct. 2007 :  20:49:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Just Lou
they'll send her the update for free.



The send of the update DVD is free.
What about the activation of the new maps ?

C.Ret
Up to now, no carriage returns.
Garmin GPS 12 (1995), Streetpilot Atlantic (2001), eTrex Vista C (2003), Streetpilot C550 (2006) & Nüvi 3598 LMT-D (2013)
Go to Top of Page

1madmanx

12 Posts

Posted - 15 oct. 2007 :  22:09:21  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I just bought a c330 last week (before finding this forum) and it was shipped with v8 maps. I want to thank everyone for their information/suggestions on how to get the updated v9 maps. I called Garmin support 2 days after getting the unit (and just finished reading this thread) and expressed my displeasure in buying something that was out of date right out of the box. Since they weren't offering a free upgrade (I told them that I would be willing in the future to buy updates - that's to be expected) I was considering returning the unit to the large department store I bought it from AND purchasing a competitor's product. They told me as long as I understood I could only load either the US or Canadian maps they would send it to me for free. I thanked them and then asked for a copy of Mapsource also. Yes to that also. That's the good news (for me). The bad news (for me) was that I had purchased the v9 upgrade off of ebay just before the call Since my son also has a c330, I'll give him one of them. So far Garmin has done the "right thing" for me.

10/17 Update: I received a "home made" CD in the mail yesterday from Garmin (without any instructions). The sleeve was labeled with "NT v8" maps. I called tech support to ask why they were sending me the map version I already had. Turns out that the 2008 update product is back ordered and won't ship for another 1.5 weeks. The disk they sent me had Mapsource 6.0 (I think) on it. Surprise, surprise, it didn't load (got an "incorrect OS" message). I went to the s/w download page for Garmin and downloaded the s/w update for Mapsource. Funny thing is the update says you have to have a previous version of Mapsource loaded for the update to work. I pressed on anyway. The update worked (w/o a previous version on my computer) and I was able to unlock Mapsource. So for those of you that have an unlock key (yellow slip of paper with your unit) but don't have the Mapsource s/w, you can download the update and activate it.

Bud

Edited by - 1madmanx on 17 oct. 2007 14:25:00
Go to Top of Page

minnie

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 18 oct. 2007 :  00:24:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
NT2009 or V9
Thank you for contacting Garmin International.

I will be more than happy to assist you on this. Are you wanting to
update the maps on your Garmin device. To check mapping updates, please

visit the following link below. This will allow you to check if there's

any map update available. We release a map update every 14-16 months.
The last update was released on July of this year. The latest mapping
detail is called City Navigator North America NT 2008. Our record show
that your device already have this map version.

How can you get V9 when there telling us NT 2008 is the latest?
Go to Top of Page

1madmanx

12 Posts

Posted - 18 oct. 2007 :  20:42:14  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I believe NT 2008 is equal to v9. One and the same.
Go to Top of Page

rytmx70

Canada
3 Posts

Posted - 23 oct. 2007 :  16:05:05  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Please let me know if you have received the new version and loaded it to the C330. Thanks!

C330
Go to Top of Page

1madmanx

12 Posts

Posted - 23 oct. 2007 :  23:25:23  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes, I have loaded the 2008 version on my c330. There is a thread here that talks about how to do (you need to load either the US or the Canadian maps into the internal memory - not both). You can (although I didn't do it) load the second maps (which ever you don't load into the unit) onto an SD memory card. Again, this is documented in another thread here.
Good luck.
Go to Top of Page

matrix_dot_ca

9 Posts

Posted - 25 oct. 2007 :  00:46:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
1madmanx,

SO you already got your free update from garmin? I ordered 2 weeks ago and was told it was on backorder.
Go to Top of Page

1madmanx

12 Posts

Posted - 08 nov. 2007 :  00:18:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes, I was told my order was backordered also. It came in about 2.5 weeks after ordering. Hopefully you got yours already.
Go to Top of Page

T0DD

12 Posts

Posted - 17 nov. 2007 :  07:05:14  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can someone please provide the telephone # you called. I just bought my wife a C330 on November 9th, 2007 and I just got it today and it has the V8 maps on it. I want to upgrade to the 2008 NT. I also own a C330 and that's why I bought my wife the C330.

A telephone # would be greatly appreciated.
Go to Top of Page

normsuss

4 Posts

Posted - 02 déc. 2007 :  04:18:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by matrix_dot_ca

I phoned garmin and they said that the new update map NT 2008 would not fit into the internal memory of C330? Is this true? How about putting the updated map into the SD card? Any thoughts from the guys who got the update?



I have a C330, and just left the Garmin website. I was asked to pay $ 69.99 for the Map Update 2008 City Navigator® North America NT - Item #: 010-10989-50 map update. So,it looks like it's available. I found that the map that came with my C330 had lots of inaccuracies. Some that I found: In Las Vegas NM (87701) The C330 ignored roads that were built years ago. It also advised me to turn….....sometimes into a fence (no street there), sometimes into a non-existent street.

In Santa Fe NM it wouldn’t allow entry of several addresses that had existed for years. The same in Albuquerque NM.

I was traveling North on I-25 several miles out of Santa Fe NM, the C330 was programmed to take me home. There was a blockage on the interstate, and I tried to detour around it. The C330 led me up a steep, unpaved mountain road, which dead-ended at the top of a cliff.


Go to Top of Page

normsuss

4 Posts

Posted - 06 déc. 2007 :  08:22:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I emailed Garmin, and they are sending a disc with the latest maps. I'll let you know if the newest version is more detailed and accurate than the one before.
Go to Top of Page

normsuss

4 Posts

Posted - 08 déc. 2007 :  20:22:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I hope this will help, Todd. (I see your post is from 11/17/07)

Garmin's Support Website:

http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/us/supportcontacts#

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Central time (closed holidays)

Email Product Support is available on the site as well as phone support.

Phone
1-800-800-1020 (U.S.)
1-866-429-9296 (Canada) or (913) 397-8200
Go to Top of Page

minnie

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 09 déc. 2007 :  18:11:25  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It's pretty sad when they expect you to pay half of what you paid for the map upgrade.

Edited by - minnie on 09 déc. 2007 19:13:27
Go to Top of Page

Dennis Morkes

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 28 déc. 2007 :  18:55:08  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If you have a dvd update, will it work on more than one unit?

They are going to send me a free update for the 330, it is v9. They said the 330 will not hold both Canada and the US. So if I only use the US it will work. But can it be used on another 330?
Go to Top of Page

psydocva

2 Posts

Posted - 29 déc. 2007 :  15:47:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Also have a new C330 (gift from Santa). Spoke w/ very helpful and generous Garmin service rep day after Xmas, and will be receiving the new map update at no charge (but back-ordered at the moment). As far as I know, the dvd update will only work for one c300 unit (I think).
Go to Top of Page

lhowerton42

1 Posts

Posted - 09 janv. 2008 :  21:11:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Also just got a c330 with City Nav. v8 and was told by Garmin support dude today that they do not give free map updates. So, what's the secret to getting them to send me a free update? Thanks.
Go to Top of Page

melnick

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 23 févr. 2008 :  07:00:42  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You will get Garnin's attention by filing a complaint with the Kansas BBB. After being blown off by tech support, I did this twice with units that had failed batteries just out of the warranty period. Both times I received an email within a week offering to resolve my problem. Kind of a chickens*** way to operate but I guess that the squeaky wheel get oiled.
Go to Top of Page

ProZac

2 Posts

Posted - 01 mars 2008 :  15:10:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I purchased a C330 about a year ago. It came with the V8 on it and they also sent me the DVD as it didnt' come with one. This year I asked if they will give me the 2008 software and they said they don't give free updates anymore. Then I find out that the 2008 maps wont fit on the unit I have to select between either all of US or all of Canada with the bordering states. I know the unit wasn't a brand new model when I bought it but thought it was pretty bad that I couldn't fit all of Canada and the US on it at one time. So what Garmin did for me was send me a memory card with the 2008 software with all of Canada on it. So I bought the upgrade DVD and loaded all of the US on the unit and just plug the memory card in and I have all of Canada too. They sent me the memory card with Canada on it for free. I thought that was good of them. I've only ever communicated with Garmin by email. It takes a while to get back and you might get a different person everytime but they have a reference number in your email so they always know what the problem is.
Go to Top of Page

ontheroadagain

1 Posts

Posted - 02 mars 2008 :  15:59:02  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have a question along this same line. I obtained a 330 for Christmas and quickly realised that I had an old map set on my unit. I contacted Garmin by email and my first reply was that I would have to purchase the updated map set and that my unit does not have enough memory to hold the total update map set. I replied how disappointed I was with Garmin's response and that the memory issue should be easly resolved with an SD memory card. The next reply from Garmin was that an update DVD was on the way (backordered, 5 weeks delivery). I have now recieved this DVD. Now for my question; when I load new map set the instalization program informs me that I do not have enough internal memory to load both US and Canadian map sets, and forces me to choose one (even though I have a 2 GB SD card installed). I tried formatting the SD card to both FAT and FAT32, with no success. I even tried rerunning the driver disk. Still no luck. Does anyone have any suggestions?

quote:
Originally posted by ProZac

I purchased a C330 about a year ago. It came with the V8 on it and they also sent me the DVD as it didnt' come with one. This year I asked if they will give me the 2008 software and they said they don't give free updates anymore. Then I find out that the 2008 maps wont fit on the unit I have to select between either all of US or all of Canada with the bordering states. I know the unit wasn't a brand new model when I bought it but thought it was pretty bad that I couldn't fit all of Canada and the US on it at one time. So what Garmin did for me was send me a memory card with the 2008 software with all of Canada on it. So I bought the upgrade DVD and loaded all of the US on the unit and just plug the memory card in and I have all of Canada too. They sent me the memory card with Canada on it for free. I thought that was good of them. I've only ever communicated with Garmin by email. It takes a while to get back and you might get a different person everytime but they have a reference number in your email so they always know what the problem is.


Edited by - ontheroadagain on 02 mars 2008 16:00:29
Go to Top of Page

Motorcycle Mama

133 Posts

Posted - 02 mars 2008 :  17:44:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You have to install one part of the maps to the unit and then re-run the install program (look for it on the DVD) to install the other part to the SD card.
Go to Top of Page

minnie

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 04 mai 2008 :  20:21:08  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
All that said and done this whole map updating has been a joke. Garmin said they only update the maps about every 2 years. Seems to me mine is only 6 months old and in that time there has been 2 updates. These are like cell phones. You may as well just give them away for free because you rape the end user when it comes to keeping them 'current.' Speaking of current, I've found that streets that have around for 3 to 4 years are not found, as the same for major freeway modifications. It's a wonderful product but their support leaves a lot to be desired. Maybe when advertising your product advise the buyer beware of the over priced updates.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply/Répondre
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
GpsPasSion Forums © 2002-2015_GpsPasSion/Manzanite Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 1,17 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.05